

NEWS RELEASE

November 21, 2020

Board Elects Chair, Vice-Chair and Executive Members

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Board of Trustees for the Newfoundland and Labrador English School District was held today (Saturday, November 21) at the District Conference Centre in St. John's. As required by the bylaws, trustees voted for the roles of Chair and Vice-Chair, as well as the Executive Committee of the Board.

The positions of Chair and Vice-Chair are as follows:

Chair – Goronwy Price **Vice-Chair** – Wayne Lee

The Executive Committee of the Board includes the Chair and Vice-Chair, as well as one trustee from each of the regions. Regional representatives of the Executive Committee are as follows:

- Labrador Guy Elliott
- Western Pamela Gill
- Central Winston Carter
- Eastern Kevin Ryan
- Northeast Avalon Peter Whittle

The District experienced technical difficulties, caused by external factors, in its effort to broadcast the AGM and its regular Board meeting live through its YouTube channel. The meetings were, however, recorded and will be available on the website as soon as possible.

The Board also officially welcomed two new trustees, recently appointed as per the provisions of the Schools Act, 1997. Guy Elliott represents Zone 3 in Labrador, and Jean Butt represents Zone 11 in the Central region.

-30-

Media contact:

Heather May | Director of Strategic Planning, Policy and Communications | NL English School District O: 709-758-2371 | M: 709-690-0056 | <u>heathermay@nlesd.ca</u> | @NLESDCA | <u>www.nlesd.ca</u>



